An Old Man's Advice on Pendulum Attunement

Yes, this is a long post. Old men like to ramble, but we usually have a reason for it.

While I do not consider myself an expert on very much, I have been using pendulums for divination for over 30 years now, so I think I know a few things.

This is what I do when obtaining, attuning, and using a new pendulum. So far, this works for me. Some of this might work for you. The accuracy improves over time and use.

Your Pendulum
While a bit of a misidentification, my first pendulum was actually my favorite silver necklace that had a small obsidian obelisk as its weight at the throat.

I have had one necklace and a few real pendulums over the years for divination, and the necklace was a good start for me. The other were real, manufactured pendulums: some copper and two brass. (I found the brass ones to beā€¦ resistant? Hard to describe, but I used them for about 4 months with no real accuracy before moving on to copper, which is what I use now and have for several years. Copper seems to resonate with me.)

What works for you works for you, but if you are having difficulty in getting any amount of accuracy out of your divinations, try a copper pendulum.

Attuning the Pendulum
I had been wearing my necklace for almost a year before a Wiccan friend of mine in college said one day, ā€œOh. Silver! Let me show you something wicked with that.ā€ This is how I got started using pendulums.

It turns out that the first step after acquiring what you are using as a pendulum
is to get to attuned to you. There are two good methods that I have found for this.

1. The first is to simply wear it. It if it a necklace, easy. If it is a real pendulum, wear it in a pocket, and get to know it. Meditate with it.