Work Life and You

One of the biggest things I struggle with is job life. It eats up free time, drains energy, and you always have to put on a fake face to appeal to people. One of my most precious treasures is time, and I absolutely hate trading it for currency.

Despite having a degree in applied science, the only jobs in my area are retail and fast food. I have plenty of experience with retail. I put on a great face thanks to Lord Belial teaching me. However, I am not a people person whatsoever. In fact, at my first job, I had a mental breakdown and it didn’t end well. I held back my real self for two long years and it decided to burst forth. Enough was enough. I was forced to take a leave of absence and was terminated shortly after.

Due to recent events in my life, I am once again put back into retail. I struggle with the day-to-day drudgery and constant interaction with people. The best way to describe my experience is: it’s similar to a glass filling, little-by-little everyday. When that glass fills, it not only overflows, but explodes. Every interaction in a work setting, fills this glass. Getting two days off a week is never enough; however, I need the money to sustain everything. I’m sure others can relate to me; it is simply something that needs to be done. At this point in my life, I have no choice but to push myself beyond my limit. I can’t lose this job.

The whole process of walking into the building and instantly being bombarded by people. Not having enough time to myself at work. I love to be left to my own devices and despise being interrupted from my thoughts and communications with spirits. Being constantly brought back into the mundane and forced to tend to the trivial needs of people who can’t look beyond the mundane. Everything about the work process is mind-numbing.