Performing a ‘freestyle’ ceremony in the bathtub

I’m a newb and I am wanting to do something on the new moon to call in energy or spirits to assist me in opening up my psychic senses. I’m short on space (and privacy) and my idea was to set up a small portable altar next to my bathtub and do this while sitting in the water. I’m wondering what more experienced people think… am I opening myself up to negative things by not having a proper circle, being in water? I am a Pisces and relate strongly to the element of water and thought it might add to the experience. But I also don’t want to insult any entities by having my own version of ceremonial space and not following any specific book.

2 Likes

I don’t ever use a circle. As far as the rest, just do you- that’s what I do. Example of a ritual done in the bath:

1 Like

I love doing journeying work in the bath. I don’t use an altar but I do use music and candlelight for the mood and vibes. You can get into a really good space.

My tub is metal and I feel it acts as a circle by itself, however, I often use the circle as a way to focus energies, e.g., from the directions (all 7 of them - we are in 3D not 2D, so I use the compass points + above below and center) not as a protective shield per se.

The entities are not that lightweight. :joy_cat: Be civil, expect civility back, don’t put up with any bs.
Getting offended over “not following random dudes book”? that’s bullshit… nobody made that dude the occult police.

Those books are someone else’s version, the benefit is that hopefully they tested the ideas and got feedback from other mages on them being successful before publishing - that doesn’t actually always happen.
Older works should have more discussion and feedback about how they worked out for people, such as the traditional medieval stuff, you can look out for blinds and tests, edit around them, and then you’ve changed ritual from the book anyway. So don’t worry about using your initiative, that’s a good thing.