Futhark That

I’m a noob to Futhark runes, so I’ll start a thread about the basics as I learn them. Come teach me stuff or learn along. Also post your cool Futhark writing or crafting or whatever.

11 Likes

The name ‘Futhark’ comes from the sounds of the first six letters in the set. There are several sets that descend from the Elder Futhark.

There is a Younger Futhark, an English Futhorc (the sounds are a little different so the Roman spelling is different), and several futharks that fit their corresponding language.

3 Likes

Scholars aren’t sure about the names of several runes in the Elder Futhark set. Most old Norse writing is in Younger Futhark or Roman Alphabet.

Elder Futhark isn’t only Norse. It is the master set that most European letter sets came from. Elder Futhark was around before Old Norse evolved from its roots. Wizards of old thought of these as the old runes.

3 Likes

I guess my axe fits :thinking: camp%20axe
There’s the rune poem of Naudhiz written in Norwegian and elder futhark
“Nauðr gerer næppa koste; nøktan kælr í froste.”
or
“Constraint gives scant choice; a naked man is chilled by the frost.”

20 Likes

The Norse resisted the intelectual influence of Rome longer than other European cultures, sometimes converting six-hundred years later than their neighbors. The Icelandic people took interest in their Norse roots around the twelve-hundreds, and smuggled a few shreds of European mythos past the inquisition.

3 Likes

I LOVE this.

5 Likes

Very nice!
The rune poem is great. I’m just getting in to that.

4 Likes

Okay, I purposefully looked for scholarly as opposed to spiritual sources. I took the runes as letters. To me, the intellectual effort makes magic, not just the names and shapes of things.