What Warrior Art Do You Personally Practice? [To Kurtis Joseph]

Hey, Kurtis.

It’s clear from your response to my other post that you practice a very effective form of warrior art. If you don’t mind sharing, what warrior art do you personally practice?

I get the impression it’s some form of Ninjutsu or Budo Taijutsu, or maybe a form of Aikijujutsu. Definitely a true battlefield art.

I was always drawn to Togakure-Ryu Ninjutsu at a young age. I’ve always wanted to practice it. And the Kuji-In and Kuji-Kiri elements always fascinated me.

I gave up on it as a childhood fantasy, but I’m starting to feel the old call again. Why place such silly limits on my self?

@KurtisJoseph

6 Likes

I am a certified Instructor in Jun Fan Jeet Kune Do Concepts and Filipino Martial Arts. Kuji-In actually comes from India which is why I began its study.

I am currently a student in Budo Ryu Ninjutsu which is a more modern interpretation of the Samurai and Warrior traditions. You will never find ME teaching those things as I am not licensed to do so.I just feel like the best teachers remain the greatest students above all else. As Bruce said (I paraphrase) when you think you know it all the coffin is closed.

Regardless you can look into Budo Ryu online training as it is very interactive, and it is far from a “black belt mill”. Its hard and physical conditioning is TOP priority. You can only purchase the curriculum of one rank at a time and that material must be mastered before you can purchase the next level. You can send them video’s through your learning process and they will critique you before you test to help you out.

I do mostly online stuff with Budo Ryu, but my plan is to get out there to train with the school at least a few times a year, as well as attend events reserved for Budo Ryu Kai students to support the school.