Teaching Suggestions for us Old Farts

By way of an introduction to this post: I’m female, 58, and I have about 45+ years experience with magick and metaphysics. I have been a part of several occult organizations and private groups, both positive and negative, and have an extensive occult library that now has it’s own room.

I have recently been asked to start teaching, but I could use some suggestions, since I have absolutely no idea yet where to start with creating a lesson plan!

I’m hoping that those here who have also been at this a while might have some ideas for me on where I might start with new students who wish to learn evocation and invocation, and working with various spirits.

For someone who wishes to learn ceremonial magick specifically (my basic forte), I’m thinking they may want some instruction in Kabbalah (both sides), astrology, understanding the grimoires, symbolism, sigils, history(?), etc., as well as some knowledge of various spirits, angels, and the types of beings that can end up tricking the magician into thinking they’ve contacted someone they haven’t.

From the newer folks here, I’d be interested in hearing what you think an experienced teacher should offer, and in what order you think would be helpful for someone starting out.

I realize not everyone wants or needs a teacher. I didn’t have a particular teacher myself, but I’ve had the pleasure of knowing quite a few talented magicians over the years that taught me much. I would love to return that favor to those who are asking me to.

Any suggestions or help on this would be very appreciated! :slight_smile:

15 Likes

I think you’re right on about the fundamentals

All of the above.

7 Likes

That’s a new term to me! There’s always more to learn. :slight_smile: