Empty Your Cup

I Studied Taoism and followed the way of the Tao for years before I adopted to the philosophical principals of Buddhism.

Lao Tzu’s Teachings have helped me, beyond measure, in learning stillness, disipline and having No thought which equates to no judgment which in turn negates duality.

Essentially Taoism and Buddism are almost one in the same as far as conceptual thinking go, with the theory and application of principals being the obvious difference.

Along with Confucianism, these three, make up Neo-Confucianism. All three being so very similar in their teachings that some have opted to combine these three religious philosophies into one.

I myself, do not follow, nor have I ever studied the teachings of Confucius, so I do not and nor have I ever considered myself to be a Neo- Confucian.

But moving right along we circle back to Taoism. I always loved the idea of balancing forces. The :yin_yang: symbol is a very accurate representation of the dualistic nature of reality. Two equal and opposite forces. One, being immovable (usually me, lol), the other unstoppable. And the balancing dance of the two, form existence as we know it. But that was not enough for me. I wanted to know what lies beyond the veil…

…So I took a peek and saw the vastness of nothingness. The soothing, ever present, all pervading, all consuming, nothingness. The Abyss. This, for me, was Buddhism.

The eternal stillness, from which all movement is born of and to which all movement will return to.

The eternal silence, from which all sound is born of and to which all sound will return to.

Every word is like an unnecessary stain on silence and nothingness.
-Samuel Beckett

From Nothing we came and to nothing we will return. Once I embraced, and understood this there was nothing left for me to know. And I could easily become the silent non-judging witnesser of, not only my own ego but of all of existence, which I now know myself to be.