Atheists-Scientists

Hello again. I decided to open a discussion about scientist/atheists.

As a scientist myself I learnt to reject everything supernatural/metaphysical related to relegion or not. So I was an atheist for quite a long time - of course I was, my prayers as a teen to my christian God have never had a result.

That changed, because I felt a strong inner calling and becaused I remembered that in my early childhood years I was claircognizant. And many other things than this actually, brought me here.

This is what I would like exactly to discuss wiith you guys. I would love to hear from people who are scientists and were atheists (or into agnosticism) to share, about what made you turn into the Magick way. Feel free to share your experiences.

Cheers,
Iria

5 Likes

I have to say inner knowing.

I was an atheist from the age of 8 to 23, I studied sciences and gained a degree in Theoretical Physics. I was not an atheist because of science, and one of my friends who was a Christian, when I pointed out the beauty and complexity of the universe (we were astrophysicists) and I asked how can you see this and believe in god?" he said, ā€œHow can you not!?ā€. I was an atheist because I had prayed to god to save a bird only to sense unequivocally that nothing was listening.

I never lost belief in ghosts and the Fae, as also growing up fey in a fey family the evidence was clear. There are subtle energies that science was not even trying to explain and people that did were ostracised and grants were thin on the ground and hard to find.

But I didnā€™t believe in gods or higher beings, and I thought that once you died as a human, there was only oblivion, and ghosts were residual energy recordings captured by the piezoelectric qualities of stone and other natural features.