Why would a spirit choose to help us anyway?

I’ve never attempted to evoke or summon a spirit being myself; this is something I only only starting to learn anything about. But I understand the basic idea of calling upon a being, demon, angel, elemental, ect, to either carry out a task for your benefit, or to provide you with information. The question I have though is basically why would they want to help us? Why should a powerful spiritual entity, want to tell us anything at all, or to do us a favor because we commanded it too? What’s in it for the spirit? It only stands to reason that it must somehow benefit both the entity and the one that called upon it in the first place. As I said, I am new to this idea and have never actually done this myself, but still I cannot possibly imagine a powerful demon for example, thinking itself a servant to a mere mortal for little reason.

I’m going to offer a general answer based on only a couple months’ experience in evocation, and which is going to be somewhat wrong by the mere fact that spirits have individual personalities and motivations. But, FWIW: because spirits desire to act on the material plane, and the sorcerer acts as a doorway that is otherwise not available to them.

It seems to me that some demons just love and desire certain outcomes and experiences so much they’re willing to get involved with anyone working in that general direction. A bit like, if you have a favourite sport or hobby or some other interest, and someone asks you for your advice or a bit of help, you won’t resent the time nor see it as being the “servant” to their aims, because you enjoy it too.

You would seriously not have to make blood sacrifices and offer your immortal soul to get me talking about Dr Who for example :o) and in my experience so far, as well as what I’ve learned, they’re much the same.

This is my personal theory so far explained in full: “Psychology of demons.”