Some Words of Encouragement to Other Newbies

I posted in the “Members’ Success” thread, but I feel that people just starting out, or people at the same stage as me (not quite starting out, but by no means intermediate or advanced) could receive some positive motivation from my story.

I was a Tradesman making good money for many years. In 2007 I was in a very serious accident, and received a nice settlement (unfortunately, all gone now, lol). This settlement allowed me to pay off my house, and realize my dream of going to culinary school, specializing in pastry. Let’s just say food service is, for the overwhelming majority, NOT a lucrative career. I graduated in 2010, and have been struggling financially since then.

Due to vast amounts of American manufacturing moving overseas, my former trade is all but dead in the US. I tried, many times, to return to my prior career, but unsuccessfully. I was feeling desperate, hopeless, you name it. Age is also a factor, and I felt the calendar was my enemy.

I struck up a friendship with a guy who works for the company that does the repair and maintenance on our equipment. I told him I had a very strong mechanical background, as well as an electrical background, though not as strong, from my Air Force days. I asked him what qualifications I needed to get a job where he worked, as well as pay, bennies, etc. I seemed to meet them all, and he told me they were always looking for good people.

That was a little over a year ago. I stalled. Then I stalled some more. I realized I was stalling because that job felt like my last, and only hope of being prosperous again. If I couldn’t get hired there, the feeling of hopelessness and failure would be too much to bear. I had even done some magick, but never followed through. It boiled down to fear of rejection.