Scrying mirror

Hi all I’m just learning to scry using a black mirror and find it impossible not to blink. If I blink am I ruining my chances? Ive read some place that you should never blink and another place says it doesn’t matter if you blink or not. But believing I shouldn’t blink makes me blink more for some reason!!! Any thoughts?

Well, for me it’s more not forcing my gaze than blinking or not, I just relax my eyes and let it flow

I agree with zvane. If you are thinking about blinking you are forcing your gaze. Think about what you see past the mirror not if you are blinking or not. Try focusing on your breath while you start out to help forget about blinking. Eventually you will forget about both and just “see”.

You know about 65% of the time when I scry I do it with my eyes closed and the images just sort of come then, I’m not even entirely sure if there’s any real benefit in still using the mirror for me.

Thanks, I think that’s the hardest thing about scrying/magic - learning to still the mind so it doesn’t get in the way. Without even knowing how it starts, I catch my mind in full flight analyzing what I’m doing and trying to control the whole operation, which is when I notice I’m straining my eyes and blinking non stop.

I’ll try the relaxed approach and let you all know when I get some success.

Brutus, if you relax you’ll see that blinking doesn’t turn into an annoyance.

When I scry I leave my eyes blink if it’s needed, that’s not going to ruin the operation, but the thing do could ruin it it’s to be constantly thinking about "This is gonna ruin if I blink?

You have to relax, no one magickal operation will fail if you cannot pronunce the exact words of an incantation, or if the mirror is not in the exact degree of inclination, or if the circle is not exactly drawn upon the floor.

That’s all very nice, but You are the Magick, so if you’re in the correct state of being, that’s all that you really need