Pact with Astarte... Help?

I am brand new here, so please let me know if I have posted this in the wrong place. Just to provide a background, I am fairly new to witchcraft, and have been in search of a guide/deity to work with for a while now as I feel I am in need of guidance. Up until now I have had little to no success, or so I thought. I have been meditating a lot and asking for guidance finding a job. Well, I got one. On my first day I was sitting in my office, and I looked up to find a dove sitting in the windowsill looking directly at me. When I looked at it I felt this weird connection almost like I was looking in the eyes of another human being. When I got home and looked up things associated with doves, “Astarte” popped up, and I immediately felt drawn to that name. I did some reading, found the sigil that is associated with Astarte/Astaroth which I know is debatable, but in my one opinion I consider them one in the same. First I cast a circle, drew the sigil on my hand, and called to her. I didnt really feel any connectivity, so I eventually gave up and closed the circle.