New to tarot reading, I need insight

I am new to reading tarot and watched a host of videos on how to shuffle, sage, and read the cards.
I did a reading tonight concerning a new business that I want to start and was perplexed at what I got and wondered if I shuffled incorrectly.
I asked the cards will I be successful in this business and pulled 3 cards off the top.

I got eight, seven, and six of swords in that order.

If it is a brand new deck it may not been shuffled enough but generally in my experience and doing tarot I was taught early on not to read on self. They sometimes will do something weird.

However what deck did you use? That can play a role as well.

2 Likes

That isn’t really a great set of sword cards to get for that reading. The first, the eight of swords is the old stuck in the mud card, then next, you get the seven of swords, so that means that basically someone takes advantage of you, and lastly the six of swords, where you realize this wasn’t such a grand idea after all so basically moving on from it.

Yeah, I hate getting readings like that but sometimes crap happens.

1 Like

Here’s my basic take: Use your intuition and asign each “placement” a meaning before you pull

You could choose beforehand:

• Mind, Body, Spirit
  • Health, Wealth, Relationships
  • What may help, what may harm, what’s actionable
  • Past, present, future

You get it.

Make this “spread” you choose suit your question so you have a signpost to draw through from each card

Then you’ll get a feel for what’s to come. I shuffle the deck until it “feels” ready, sort of like eating M&M’s and some go “no this one” (if you’re ocd enough to relate)

I’d re-read again with something less yes/no in mind such as “tell me of my business ventures on this trajectory”

Then perhaps a spread like:

1. General read
  2. What’s actionable magickally
  3. What’s actionable in the mundane
  4. What’s likely to happen with magick
  5. What’s likely to happen without magick