Long time lurking ... glad to join finally join!

Hi everyone.

I’ve been lurking for a while.

I finally decided to sign up. Plenty of time at home now!

When I was young I went to music school and explored the occult, but was raised Roman Catholic so I had all kinds of built in ideas about good and evil. I had some traumatic experiences at the hands of someone who claimed to be both god and the devil. This messed me up; to keep my sanity, I decided that if I couldn’t prove it, it didn’t exist.

So I went to school for religious studies, then philosophy, then science (cosmology) and medicine. I got my PhD in Philosophy of Science and taught university.

I gave that all up, moved to Los Angeles, and started working on music again. My life utterly changed for the better.

Nearly two years ago I met someone who became important to me. During this time, the closer I got to this person, the more I had these episodes where I felt like I was being attacked. One night my friend showed me a video about demon possession and I became very agitated. I realized that the only other time I felt this sense of being attacked was when I was younger and going through trauma.

Something clicked and I wondered if I was being attacked somehow psychically or spiritually. The attacks were intense, felt like knives tearing apart my thoughts and ideas, confusing me. In desperation, I found some chaos magick and tried to create a shield.

To my utter shock and amazement, the relief was instant.

Keep in mind, I was a science chick and didn’t believe in anything supernatural (not sure I do even now … all seems pretty natural to me … it only looks super because we don’t understand it …).

But the relief couldn’t be denied.

I found The Gallery of Magick online and got in touch with an old friend who was seriously into ceremonial magick. He advised me to start working on Adam Blackthorne’s sigil book. It was perfect for me to start with.

I dove in and haven’t looked back.