Invoking and requesting appearance

How come so many of the pathworkings I read are asking the entity you are invoking to appear? I thought appearance was only expected when you evoked? On the other hand, I have only been invoking rather than evoking, and they sometimes appear.

Is it common for an entity to also appear when you are invoking? I’m still new to the LHP. thanks

Well, when you invoke a spirit, you are taking into yourself its qualities. They do have to actually show up in order to facilitate that.

1 Like

ok, so what’s the benefit of evoking instead of invoking. It seems like it would be more beneficial to invoke bec you would then inherit those powers and use them yourself…

Evoking is generally used to get something done in the material world.

An example would be evoking Sallos to physical appearance and tasking him with making someone love you.

Invoking is generally used to make inner changes to the self.

An example would be invoking Sallos to help you to feel more attractive and confident.

These are the traditional definitions within ceremonial magick. Gods, goddesses, and angels were always invoked, and demons were always evoked because it was believed you needed protection from them, even though you were asking them for things.

However, the religious practice of demonolatry, uses both words a bit differently. According to S. Connolly, demons should only be invoked, and her definition of the word seems to imply that it is a sort of open invitation for the demon to appear, rather than a taking of its traits into yourself. She sees evocation as a “summoning by force,” a kind of gun to the head type of thing, so she calls upon demons in the same way gods and goddesses have been traditionally called upon, that is by invocation.

6 Likes