Hindu Tantra: Bhairava

Ashta Bhairav: The eight manifestations of Kaal Bhairav

Ashta Bhairav are eight manifestations of Kaal Bhairav. They are the guardians and controller of eight directions. Each Bhairav has eight sub Bhairavs under him. So there are 64 Bhairavs in total. All of the Bhairavs are ruled and controlled by Maha Swarna Kala Bhairava, who is considered the supreme ruler of time of the universe and the chief form of Bhairava.

The 8 Bhairavs:

Kaal Bhairav

Kaal Bhairav

1. Sri Asithaanga Bhairav

Sri Asithaanga Bhairavar

Sri Asithaanga Bhairav

Consort: Bhrami
Vahana: Swan
Direction: East
Worship Benefits: Gives creative ability.

2. Sri Unmatha Bhairav

Sri Unmatha Bhairavar

Sri Unmatha Bhairav

Consort: Vaarahi
Vahana: Horse
Direction: West
Worship Benefits: Controls negative ego and harmful self talk.

3. Sri Bheeshana Bhairav

Sri Bheeshana Bhairavar

Sri Bheeshana Bhairav

Consort: Chamundi
Vahana: Lion
Direction: North
Worship Benefits: Obliterates evil spirits and negativity.

4. Sri Chanda Bhairav

Sri Chanda Bhairavar

Sri Chanda Bhairav

Consort: Koumaari
Vahana: Peacock
Direction: South
Worship Benefits: Gives incredible energy, cuts competition and rivals.

5. Sri Ruru Bhairav

Sri Ruru Bhairavar

Sri Ruru Bhairav

Consort: Maaheshwari
Vahana: Ox (Rishabam)
Direction: South-East
Worship Benefits: Divine educator.

6. Sri Krodha Bhairav

Sri Krodha Bhairavar

Sri Krodha Bhairav

Consort: Vaishnavi
Vahana: Eagle (Garuda)
Direction: South-West
Worship Benefits: Gives you the power to take massive action.

7. Sri Samhaara Bhairav

Sri Samhaara Bhairavar

Sri Samhaara Bhairav

Consort: Chandi
Vahana: Dog
Direction: North-East
Worship Benefits: Complete dissolution of old negative karmas.

8. Sri Kapaala Bhairav

Sri Kapaala Bhairavar

Sri Kapaala Bhairav

Consort: Indrani
Vahana: Elephant
Direction: North-West
Worship Benefits: Ends all unrewarding work and action.

Each of the Bhairava’s manifestations represent, Akash, air, fire, water and earth and the other three being sun, moon and atma. Each of the Bhairavs are different in appearance, have different weapons, different vahanas. They also represent the Ashta Lakshmis.


Bhairava are part of Lord Shiva.Lord MahaKaal is the King of all Bhairava.Bhairava are fierce and are useful in protection and curing diseases .


how to evoke them?? any tantra or mantra?

1 Like