First contact; Now what?

I had a “feeling” that there was a spirit here earlier. As a note, I’m new to all this and still am in sort of a transitional phase between my imagination and my magickal imagination. Naturally, I have no way to confirm then that this really happened.

However, I felt as though I should sit down and see if anything would speak to me. I went for automatic writing, though I know it has it’s faults, it was simple and on hand. Not to mention I could keep the writing afterwards.

As soon as I started to… think? Not think? Whatever?.. I immediately felt to write “I am here” about a half dozen times. I tried as hard as I could to separate myself from my mind, and simply let the pen write on it’s own so that I could look back at it later. As much as I tried, this was nearly impossible. Things were jumping into my head. (Should I have simply listened to this instead?)

Afterwards, I felt prompted to burn some incense. I tranced out as best as I could, and for a moment it was almost as though someone was staring back at me. Just the head and shoulders; completely unfocused and like a silhouette. It was gone before I could even get a good look at it.

So I’m still trying to decide if I had an actual encounter or not, but saying I did, what do I do next? I know basically nothing about necromancy.

It’s also worth noting that I asked for it to show me something, and nothing really happened. Other than that imagine my head of course.

One thought that occurs to me is- using the tool of auto-writing, the two types: the dictating/guided type (where you sense/hear and write it, as EA phrases it in the Divination Course), vs the ideomotor type (where your hand sort of moves on its own)... differentiate the two, if they are blurred you sort of stick in the middle