Corwin Hargrove Jinn-wishes not included in the book

I am studying this book and intending on giving some of the rituals a go as I said in other threads.

On the first reading, and in following some threads here, I was under the impression that, given that we will call on Djinn Kings to appoint their jinn of choice instead of evoking a particular jinn for a specific wish, that we could ask for anything within each planet’s attributes.

However, reading the book yesterday a second time, I got the impression that each ritual is quite specific, and that the book does not cover some things I need. For instance, there is not a ritual for protection or beauty.

I would like to ask opinions: would it be possible to employ the Jinns of Friday to make a wish to actually becoming more beautiful physically (instead of seduction or making other people see the best in you/perceive you as beautiful) or the King Jinn of Tuesday for defense (protecting something or someone) instead of Attack, or any of the spells in the book?

Can we ask for different wishes/make adjustments or do we have to follow it all to the letter?

Cheers

1 Like

You can always try it. Spirits of the nature of a certain planet don’t necessarily have all the powers of that planet, but usually embody a certain Divine Idea (in the Platonic sense) descending from that Planet (and we must remember these heavens are spiritual, not the material stars and planets), or a certain Divine Idea descending from The One if they are beyond the celestial world.

So, a spirit who embodies beauty may not have great power to cause love, even though both these things descend from Venus.

I would say, they can probably bring love and beautiful. However, I wouldn’t personally call on the spirits of Mars for protection, rather the spirits of Jupiter traditionally bring protection.

Thank you, I’ll keep that in mind. I was thinking of something along the lines of counter-striking, not so much passive defense.