Change My View: Astrology is Pseudoscience

Hi guys. So as many of you know, I’m a scientist by training. I hear people talk about astrology a lot, but I keep coming back to the same criticism, which is summed up nicely by Wikipedia:

Can any of you counter this argument by suggesting a mechanism by which astrology could work? Esoteric mechanisms count of course. What do you guys think?

3 Likes

I think astrology is another way of saying that people born at certain times of year can share certain life experiences. Malcolm Gladwell wrote about an example of this in Outliers as to hockey players, of all things. But as society has become less agrarian and seasons don’t really affect our lives much anymore, I think astrology has only weak explanatory power of any

3 Likes

Gravity. Physicists knew Uranus existed before they found it, because it is large enough to cause perturbations in the orbits of Saturn and Jupiter, which are enormous bodies and very definitely effect the orbits of every other planet in our solar system. One can calculate the Gravitational pull between Earth and the other Planets, and Moon and Sun. I have it in a spreadsheet somewhere. Ceres & Vesta each exert more pull than Pluto, so I support Pluto’s demotion.

Photons. Those things that interact with our outer atmosphere and create things like the Northern lights. Plenty of them make it through the atmosphere. A whole bunch of them together are usually called sunlight. The Planets reflect sunlight.

Neutrinos. Scary little bits of energy. No stopping 'em. These cause the mutations.

These are things that effect Earth. Do they affect us? And could that effect potentially be reflected in a map of the solar system at the time of birth? uh, possibly.

It wasn’t until last year that they (the great big science community in their ivory tower) finally detected the first Gravity Wave. But physicists knew they had to exist long before … Einstein.

Scientists have yet to look in-between.