Anyone here worked with OTO? How'd that work out?

Does anyone here have any experience working with the Ordo Templi Orientis? Are they accepting of students of EA’s courses, or are Thelema and BALG too different to be compatible?

I’m a rank beginner at this, though I’ve had some experience with a Wiccan-style coven roughly 15 years ago. Problem is, I can’t perform any sort of ritual work at home. I either need to find an isolated place in a public park (not good with Ohio winters), or seek an indoor facility somewhere.

It turns out that the OTO has an “oasis” headquarters about 2 miles from where I work in Dayton, OH, and the chapter’s web page states that among the benefits of full dues-paying membership is “the individual use of [the chapter’s] facilities”. This could be extremely helpful for me. Does anyone else here have any knowledge of anyone else establishing a relationship with OTO and using their ritual spaces for private practice? If so, how did that work out? Several searches of the forum here didn’t seem to turn up any useful info on the subject.

Thanks!
NecNec

3 Likes

I don’t work with the OTO but they did invite EA to speak at one of their gatherings, though there are some members who are afraid of him and his “army of black magicians.” LOL. There are also members on here who identify as Thelemites so I don’t see Thelema and BALG as incompatible.

As for finding a ritual space, you can do most rituals in your head. There is a tutorial on the forum for building an astral temple. You can do all rituals there. Comes in handy if you don’t have space. When you get really good at it, you can even do ritual while you are physically out and about, like riding a bus.

Hope this helps.

7 Likes

The thelema. And iglesia gnostic seem similar were i livei ask a guy about koetting tey love his books. But not his teachings

I was at a gnostic OTO mass yesterday…