An unpopular opinion

So, I’ll probably be blasted for this. But I don’t mind the burning down of Notre Dame. In fact, I think it shouldn’t have existed. Christ taught his followers to shun materialism and help those in need. So to me the bigger and fancier the church the more its clergy ignores these teachings. I also remember a story where he destroyed a church and chased people with whips because they were trading and doing business inside it. So by Christ’s logic, big fancy churches shouldn’t exist at all. They are monuments to Christian hypocrisy.

I’m not a history professor, but I think around the time Notre Dame was built, it was a time of war, poverty, and disease. The money that went into the church could’ve been used to feed the poor. Just wasteful. And that same logic applies today, really.

5 Likes

I can see what you’re getting at. However, God had his people build temples and monuments through out the Old testament, just like you would build and concecrate a place of worship for any other god or spirit.

Culturally speaking though, fancy cathedrals were more a thing and status symbol of the time, especially after Christianity amassed as many followers as it did during its infancy. You weren’t gonna pack that many people into tents and small houses. Church then was like our pop concerts now.

All people, regardless of which particular faith, invest in what they find spiritual- whether it is time, money. labor or devotional study to its teachings. A Medieval Cathedral in France filled with people’s devotions to their religious practice through, time, effort, money, labor, art, etc. is no different than what we place and invest in our own practice, as in time devotion, money, labor, etc.