A system that does not require belief?

I am an extreme novice at magick. I fully understand that I need to give this a lot of time. And I will. But in the mean time I remain skeptical. Until I see results, I will be. So, my question is whether there is any system that relies entirely on the power of the entity and the physical acts of the magician and does not need the beliefs of the magician.

How do you communicate with the entity if you don’t believe it exists? I mean I know it’s more complex than that, and I’m not being snarky, but I’m confused?

1 Like

Well I guess in my way of thinking, if the entity exists, then he will hear me if I follow the proper steps regardless of my belief. Then, if he heads my request, I will no he exists.

What you are thinking of seems more along the lines of alchemy. Science not magick, because if you have no beliefs in the magickal processes or that there is an entity on the other side willing to help you, but you DO believe you can alter your reality to get results, that’s just science. Figuring out cause and effect, and changing the cause to ultimately change the effect.

I understand your point. But I am interested in theistic magick and can’t shake it. However, in my mind, if an entity exists, he should be able to hear me as long as I go through the proper steps. Anything short of that seems a little fishy to me, like I’m just psyching myself up and talking to myself. And I’m definitely not interested in atheistic/jboy magick.

In the chaos magick paradigm it is not unusual to work with things one does not necessarily believe exist, although on the surface that may seem counter intuitive. Peter Carroll talks about this in Liber Kaos where he says: