Would this be valid for worship?

I wasn’t sure where to put this, but General Discussion sounds about right, so be it.

I am a mechanic, by mundane occupation, and a Solitary Practitioner by faith. But, as a mechanic, specifically a mechanic of flying machines, I have to deal with the practical aspects of Murphy’s Law, which has led me down a particular and peculiar path.

While the Mythical Murphy, he of the Great Law, remains shrouded in mystery as to who actually coined his law, it is what it is, and is a right good law which helps explain things, as a law is wont to do.

And as such, to me, Murphy has taken on something of a demigod status, as his law really does impact and impinge the Universe, hence the following.

As an aircraft mechanic, I must do what I can to make sure that whatever I’ve worked on won’t fail except by age, misadventure, or pilot error. You could so say that I am a high priest of Murphy in that I must propitiate him, which meant that I have to build him.

And so the following: Murphy is the result of the Greek Goddess Eris, the Goddess of chaos and hilarity, decided to get pregnant with some hapless mortal, resulting in Murphy.

And, Murphy has a wife, her name being Lady Luck. And, as any husband knows, “happy wife, happy life”, and since Lady Luck like risque, ribald, and downright obscene jokes, I help Lady Luck smile upon my work, and Murphy is happy.

8 Likes

You could start a religion about this

If people unironically worship the Flying Spaghetti Monster, then this is tame by comparison.

Although I’d just chalk it up to trickster spirits more than any particular entity.

3 Likes

Well, yes, trickster spirits, or even Loki, Coyote, and the like.
Still, like the FSM, this is more whimsy and mine own sense of humor with respect to my day job.