Why is this never mentioned on this forum?

I’ve been a member for almost a year now, and I wonder, why doesn’t anyone ever mention how powerful dancing is as both meditation and evocation?
I’m a professional belly dancer and there’s honestly no better way for me to focus, build up strong and positive energy, or to evoke and come in contact with an entity. Also, draining energy from people that are watching is easy when you’re really enjoying what you do to, the point that you’re lost in it (it took me a long time until I realized I’ve been doing this).
Or the feeling of dancing alone in the woods at night while the wind is blowing, it’s undescribable. I tried it the night before and it put me in a trance-like state, it made me feel something I’ve never felt before. Normal meditation has never made me feel that way.

Dancing as a form of meditation is so powerful and such and underrated topic, and I believe more people should try it. Dancing has become a huge part of my life, it transformed me and my whole life, and I can’t imagine where I’d be without it.

41 Likes

I think you brought up some good points. I think belly dancing is so beautiful. I would love to learn how. :sparkling_heart:

11 Likes

Hiya OP! I’m not sure about the answer to your question, but I assume it’s because of a combination of lack of data and an unwillingness or inability to broach the subject by some sources. There’s an argument to be made that dance is the strongest form of meditation, either between structured movements to develop personal energies or to merge with forces or as a resonance with the waveform of reality itself. If you quiet your mind on a windy elevation and dance to the winds, keep your ears open, and you will hear the local songs of that time and the direction you’re facing. It’s real neat! :slight_smile:

3 Likes

Because it’s not common/cool to some people, simply put.

2 Likes