What do you wish you knew before you started practising magick?

I’m a newbie and would like to know as much as I can before I start any sort of magick because I don’t want to do anything stupid. So does anyone have any information that they wish they knew before they started? Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

8 Likes

Don’t make poorly thought out pacts, especially if the other side has the option of holding you to your side while doing little on theirs.

Don’t internalize truths you can’t utilize. Generally it just leads to psychological issues.

Practice is the most important. Like any other skill really, practice, practice, practice. You might have some talent in some areas of magic, or maybe not, but a talentless person who practices will beat out a talented one who doesn’t every time.

Ultimately, most of magic is subjective, so don’t worry too much about what other people say, worry a bit about what feels right and a lot about what works.

19 Likes

I wish I knew HOW time consuming it would turn out to be

14 Likes

How to get used to all the voices you hear in your head and what they do. How to keep yourself in control over yourself than anything else

12 Likes

I can sum up the points below with the fact that there’s no compartmentalizing in magic, unless it’s deliberate and intentional; which I’m sure takes tremendous skill and concentration.

So you have to mind things like your stupid emotions and be extremely focused.

1. It’s not a good idea to wing it.

2. Your magic is you; you are your magic.

3. Everything matters, so don’t assume that because you don’t intend for something to matter that it won’t.

4. Learn some form of divination.

10 Likes

As a newbie years ago, Thought I could do spells and hexes and get results.

The truth is, it takes years of reading good quality books, watching videos, learning from others and trial and error to get good at Magic.