Thoughts on martial arts in magic?

Ok so I’m new to magic and have very little idea how the rituals involved came to be, but would martial arts be a suitable way to direct the intent and will? To me something about the ritual aspect of magic seemed…off…if we’re connecting to spirits/entities/energies through intent and will, and rituals are merely tools to direct it then surely the ritual itself wouldn’t matter, you could just as easily spout gibberish, jump up and down a few times, then pelvic thrust your will into being (exaggeratedly ridiculous for humor and to illustrate the thought process). But if the ritual aspect itself is key, and the candles used, words intoned, insence burned, and spirits contacted are all integral parts of manifesting your will in this world…how can there be so many ways to get the desired result?

Thinking about all of that has given me an idea, that magic is a martial art. You can’t stop a physical attack without doing anything, right? At least not without a considerable advantage in spiritual force, and in my entire life as a martial artist i have yet to pull that one off. But magic and martial arts bear these similarities, martial arts are systems for learning to control the body based on learning patterns and movements known to work for the one who developed them, magic appears the same, it’s the only way i can explain the vast number of ways you can do the exact same thing.