I’m just getting started with learning TG
Would like some pointers
I usually do the NAP relaxation Ritual

My question is this when doing T/G
When I pull my focus back between the line and the ceiling
I notice my peripheral and environment starting to
Become very foggy like
But I can’t keep the focus because my eyes always blink
First am I getting into T/G when I notice this ?
Second how do I keep my focus/my eyes from blinking ?
At what point can you make your calls ? To the entities ? Say if I am working with the NaP books ? Or calling to any entities?

Gustav Meyrink (and Introduction to Magic by the Ur Group, quoting him) wrote a novel where there is an exercise consisting of sitting and staying still without even blinking. Trataka, and sometimes scrying, are similar: one looks at a point, candle flame or quartz/obsidian ball once again without blinking.
You may train your eyes in this way and/or blinking but maintaining a state of relaxation.
An option is that of immediately look at a sigil and call the Spirit. These very acts induce a trance.

1 Like

You can blink. EA says nothing about doing the exercise without blinking.

Think of it like looking out a window at a tree at night. First, the tree is in focus, and can be seen clearly. Then you pull your vision back and bring the focus to your reflection in the glass. When you do that, the reflection is seen clearly, but the tree, while still seen, becomes fuzzy and indistinct from everything else.