Starting off with scrying mirror....assistance

Okay, so I’m going to start working with a scrying mirror. Never having worked with a scrying mirror before, what are some tips and tricks that I should be aware of? Also, I think I have managed to get to the Gamma/Theta sync in my meditation yet at what point in my meditation do I start incorporating the scrying mirror? For example, should I set up my mirror and begin looking INTO the mirror initially or should I first start off meditating and reach the Gamma/Theta sync first, then open my eyes and begin gazing into the mirror?
I will say that when I start out my meditation, that its easier for me to get to the Gamma/Theta state when my eyes are closed (less distraction, not focusing on anything exterior, etc…) though I don’t know whether this is the ‘proper method’. I was reading in EA’s ebook about scrying and it gives a decent overview though for a newbie as myself, I’m not sure as to some of the details.

I’m also a newb Waltyrs, However Scrying seems to be pretty easy (at least getting visual results) However I have not been able to divine anything. I start off using the mirror. Sit in a corner and have the mirror so your looking into the top corner of your wall (where two walls meet the ceiling and make a point) that way your certain your not seeing any reflections in the room or of yourself. I also like to do it at night with just a lamp on in the opposite corner of the room or maybe a few candles. Then I just relax and gaze into it, if I need to blink I do but I open my eyes slowly after blinking, Also I noticed when I try to look through the mirror instead of staring at it, it works better.

You will probably start to see some cloudy mist or colors bursting and then fading and for me it happens in waves with Violet being the most prominent and some green and dark sparkles in the middle of the cloud and colors.