Pronouncing Ancient Egyptian

Just found this page - horribly formatted, but it gets good just over one-third of the way down with the author’s commentary on how individual hieroglyphs were pronounced: [url=http://www.friesian.com/egypt.htm]http://www.friesian.com/egypt.htm[/url] - there are even .wav recordings of the trickier ones.

They did love their formulaic art and I wonder whether the ancient formality of heiroglyphs was to preserve specific sounds, against the changes of time and the chain shift that was especially prominent in cities where foreign traders and settlers brought new methods of speech.

Anyway that site is interesting, and even gets into classical Greek at the foot of the page.

So interesting fact about me. About 10 years ago or so I graduated with a Masters degree from a well known, Christian seminary. In it we studied some dead languages (Classical Hebrew and Greek). In the case of Hebrew, many of the original pronunciations are unknown due to falling out of use. It sounds like the Egyptians foresaw this problem and found a solution.

Well, it sounds like a lot of the hieroglyphs were used for spiritual enlightenment. Bear with me for a moment: