"Natural" Magick -- Does It Always Work?

E.A. mentioned that in Voudo he was not initiated, but instead was told to walk out into the desert with rum and cornmeal, and find the Legba.
He later mentions it was a much more “natural” way to come across Voudo.
Would this work in other currents, such as Lovecraftian magick or Druidry?
I imagine one could easily take a sword, a solomonic circle, and a crystal, walk out into a luscious forest, and summon Raphael.

3 Likes

While I certainly like the romance of that idea, Raphael and the other Archangels had zero problem coming to me when I called them in my apartment with me wielding a $1 ritual “butcher knife” (that was anchored to my astral Sword of Silver Flame).

If you feel called to perform an act to connect with a spirit, by all means do it if that is what you want. Magick just doesn’t have to be complicated to work.

6 Likes

This is precisely how my magick works. I am entirely self-taught and self described, and I am entirely NOT a ceremonialist.

My mentor’s advice was always “try it and see.” She and I are very scientifically minded, and the mindset of experimentation runs very deep. So, try it and see :slight_smile:

6 Likes

Does anything always work?

2 Likes

I practice a form of magick that is basically unknown to the world.

In my case, it was exactly as E.A. described. There was no initiation. There exists nobody who can initiate me, in any case.

So I had to find it myself.

And doing so is the most rewarding experience I believe could have came from this.

To anyone who wishes to follow in my footsteps, my advice to you is this.

There is an incredibly ancient power, around us at all times. Feel its presence. Seek to know it.

6 Likes

Some of the most profound conversations I have with spirits take place while I am out on walks, rather than in ritual.

5 Likes

Likewise.

3 Likes

Sometimes when watching TV as well :slight_smile:

2 Likes