My Long and Continuing Story

First of all, I’d like to thank all the knowledgeable veteran members here who have shared a ton of useful info for all to consider and implement. I’ve been scouring the Internet studying magick and this forum is by far the most densely packed informative source I’ve found. Before I found this forum, I read up on Wicca and other forms of magick. I’m sorry if I offend some here, but I find Wicca hard to believe in. It’s too new, and the 3x law I mean, come on. I’m just a beginner here but even to me the 3x law doesn’t make any sense. If I was a Wicca priest I would sit around and cast positive spells all day long so I can reap in the benefits of 3x of the positivity coming back to me. Another thing I like about this forum is you don’t see posters asking questions then getting a lecture (Quora) about circumventing free will and blah blah.

Okay, my story is somewhat long-winded and at times boring, so I’ll try to cut out all the fluff as best as I can. But first some background info: I’m early middle aged and live on the U.S./Mexico border. I spend the vast majority of my time in Mexico and after a few years I can speak conversational Spanish. There’s a lot of “brujas” here and many local folks believe in them. Much more so than Americans living in the U.S. I grew up in the Midwest USA and college educated in a mathematics intensive field. I’m a natural skeptic of things I cannot see or prove. But, I believed that I was cursed somehow, in two ways but those are not related to this story so I won’t bother posting about them here.