Is it worth getting a teacher for magick or is it better to teach oneself

Ever since I got in to magic always wonder if I’m making progress in my practice who would my progress go if I had some guidance so would it be worth paying for classes to help with learning magick or would be best to stick your head in book work through magick trial and error? I was also hoping anybody has any feedback from the class BALG that would be great.

1 Like

Before you think of this, ask yourself first, What do I want? What do I want to gain from this?

It’s needed. Don’t think it’s fascinating, it’s interesting, it’s cool…if those are your reasons I don’t think taking a class is worth it.

You should find a potent reason, and you will be able to answer your own question. Because you’ll know if you need more or you’ve had enough.

1 Like

Honestly, I think it depends from person to person. I myself have been self taught my whole life. Although, there have been some moments when I’ve asked my ‘colleagues’ for advice or help on certain matters.

At the same time, I’ve had friends who’ve taught others and brought them into the craft. Some of their students became adept super quickly, and then sort of scampered off to do their own thing. Which I think is personally wonderful.

There are also those, who become hindered by having a teacher. Mainly because everyone learns differently, and sometimes progression becomes stagnant when it is expected you do something in a specific manner without catering to you personally. There are also those that can become a bit to confined on their mentors methods and teachings, which innately causes a lack of flexibility in their practices and thinking.

I would like to note that I myself have never taken the BALG class, so I don’t really have much of an input on it. However, much like the comment above me you should take into consideration what is beneficial to you, and is it necessary for you to advance further in your own magickal practices.