I want to stop relying on books

I want to get to a point where I am no longer bound doing magick through books and utilize my own power to create a life that is truly magickal. Not that I necessarily want to eschew books and ritual entirely, but I want to be able to simply DO magick with similar efficacy.

Is this possible?
Is this what it means to be a living god?
Or is this just the beginning?

I have no idea where to start. I have been attempting magick for almost 2 years now and feel like I am making no progress. I know I am spreading myself too thin, with 30 some books halfway finished, not committing to anything wholly.

I need a list, a checklist of skills or developmental tools or a mentor, or SOMETHING that can help me.

I don’t want to give up on this journey, since I discovered the reality of magick and the “spiritual” side of life I have never been happier or more challenged.

If you, the kind members of BALG can give me some advice or point me towards a thread I haven’t been able to find that can give me some answers, I would greatly appreciate it

4 Likes

You need to start finishing books. At least 80% with genuine effort for a book. Well, if you want to progress more efficiently. Different types of books with different styles, different authors, and at least half outside of Balg, since they reference similar things .

I learned the approach from programming (not basic, school stuff, but actual Business problems). Simply looking things up on Stack was enough to solve A problem, but may not impart enough to become Wisdom, as working through a book (actually doing rituals) in a graduated progression is a good way to get the necessary base to take advantage of the case-specific info provided here.

Different styles and approaches makes you better, but only if you do it and apply yourself consistently

5 Likes

It is another book, but maybe check out Magickal Destiny by Damon Brand.