How to tell if you are talking to the right spirit

How do you tell if the spirit you are evoking is the right spirit?

I am currently working with a spirit who claims to be Vine. When I first started building this relationship the spirit and I have, I asked him this… “Are you Vine?” His reply was strange to me, but I am not very experienced so accepted it… “I am the only Vine. No others can share my name less they be destroyed.” Was his reply.

I also scryed him into a door. He appeared as what I would describe as a clown like figure, a jester, with horns.

Also another experience I had with him that was rather odd, was a time I was at a friends house. My friend and I where hanging out and he ended up falling asleep. Upon my friend drifting off I started to hear a tapping. As if someone was tapping their fingers on the wall. 1, 2, 3, was the pattern. Though at times would be 1 tap rather than 3 consecutive taps. Though I don’t believe the taps to be important here. I then got myself into a meditative state to see if I could visualise any spirits in the room. Now I did not see anything with my own eyes but the image I got in my head… Well most people would call it terrifying. He appeared as a black figure or black mass, formless. His eyes where a solid color, though I don’t remember the color. He held a staff in one hand, at the end with a serpents head. and held a chain in the other, linked to a giant dog. The dog was barking and even sniffed me (I felt that physically.). Though he pulled the chain and yelled at it. I felt as if it would be nature to be scared though I was not… I was fascinated and excited. Upon my friends waking up to take me home, he parted and the taping stopped. Keep in mind the tapping continued through this entire experience.