Help with my first, serious evocation

Hi. I am an extreme novice in the occult. My first real introduction left a very bad taste in my mouth: About 4 years ago I went to a Santeria Practitioner (S.P.) who promised that she could make my old girlfriend come back to me begging me to take her back. A year and a half later (and me $33k dollars poorer), the girl got married to someone else. Nothing that the S.P. said came true. She gave me $25K back after I warned her about calling the police. But I believe she cursed me because I had to file for bankruptcy 2 years later.

About 6 months ago I tried one of E.A.'s baneful magick curses to curse someone to death. Nothing happened. About that time I also tried to evoke Belial after listening to one of E.A.'s college lectures on YouTube, but nothing happened. I have done a couple love spells too, but to no avail.

Needless to say, I am beginning to think that Magick does not have any real, objective power. It seems like it only “works” for some people in the sense that it gives them hope; it appears that all “magick” does is assist those people in having a positive outlook on life and therefore allows them to see opportunities in their life that they would not have otherwise seen. I am skeptical that magick actually “produces” new opportunities; I think that it may just give the practitioner a more optimistic outlook on life. And that, of course, will improve one’s life one its own.

So, if Magick does not have the power to actually “produce” opportunities in one’s life, but only allows people to “see” opportunities that were always there, then I in no way want to waste my time with it. I will simply go to see a motivational speaker or something.

But I am not ready to give up yet. I want to give evocation another try. E.A. talks about the necessity to use a “working system” when trying to evoke. But I have not the faintest idea what that really means or where to find it.

So here are some things that I need help with: