GOM books

Anyone here into GOM books? I’m reading “words of power” and “the greater magickal angels”.

4 Likes

You mean Damon Brand’s books?

I have a few. They’re alright. Some have worked for me and some have not.

2 Likes

I have others also. Some people talk wonders about them but I’m not sure. It is a quite simple system to believe it works, isn’t? I think all his success is just because that but I think even a simple system must be worked with strong intent. I have thought about doing some little changes, I’m not an expert but to me there are some inconsistencies in the God’s names used in the invocations. Maybe I’m wrong but I don’t see much utility on the “sigils” of “words of power”, in fact they are not sigils per se.

The Words of Power are basic Hebrew taken from the Kabbalah and put together in a unique way. Same with the sigils. They combined bits and pieces from their sources and created something uniquely their own. Don’t knock it just because it is simple. Magick doesn’t have to be complicated. Candle magick is as simple as it gets, but no one disputes its efficacy. And simplicity is the beauty of EA’s system. He did away with the trappings of traditional ceremonial magick and stripped it down to the necessities.

If I were you, I would not alter anything. You may think you know what is what, but the chances are very good that you don’t, and thus will short circuit everything. The Damon Brand books are mostly invocations. You are not evoking the angels, so much as calling upon their power to move in your life. The only success I’ve had with Brand’s books, was with the Words of Power. The Magical Cashbook was a complete failure for me.

7 Likes