Fiction stories?

I’ve been tossing up the idea of writing a fictional novel which involves entertainment but actual practical knowledge of the occult as we see it, in particular the Goetia. I think such a thing could serve as entertainment but also as a manual for getting started into the occult.

Is there anything like this out there already though?

(P.s. I’m a shitty writer, lol)

4 Likes

Hm not that I’ve seen. This post has me wondering if I should make my own post, cause I’m a writer! And I love having friends who write! I put most of my stuff online, FictionPress and FanFiction. You or anyone else can message me if you want to know anything about writing or my profiles. I’ve wrote some occult-themed stories that mention realistic occult practices but the emphasis has always been on the fiction storyline and a lot of stuff I made up to suit the narrative too.

1 Like

Alright, I’m a far cry from a writer, I’ve done a few things that were pretty bad that I am definitely ashamed of lol. I did a very short story I just put up on Amazon that I think is a bit better, but gotta love a challenge.

Eh well, I just think all of the books on occult often read too much like a textbook or just too wordy. I thought a story wrapped around some practices would be a better method of learning it. For novices and more experienced.

1 Like

It definitely takes practice. FictionPress is free and a lot of stories there are jumbled messes written by pre-teens, but some stuff is very good too. And you can get feedback on review games and forums and stuff.

1 Like

Hmm, they don’t get too technical in terms of the specifics of the occult, but the graphic novels Grant Morrison’s The Invisibles as well as John Constantine, Hellblazer comes pretty close to what you’re talking about. I’ve also heard good things about Alan Moore’s Promethea but it’s still on my to-read list.

2 Likes