Feeling Trapped

I’m feeling very lost and alone, and that I’m trapped in a life I despise. I don’t know what to do and I guess this is me calling out for help.

I’ve got depression, and right now it’s really bad, to the point that my whole fucking body hurts all the time and I just want this misery to stop. I know how that sounds, and the answer is yes, I’ve thought about suicide. There are essentially 3 things stopping me - worrying what will happen to my family, worrying what will happen to my cats (one of which is diabetic and need expensive care), and the fact that I’m absolutely terrified of death because I don’t know for sure that it’s not just “lights out” like you just cease to exist forever.

Most of my life revolves around work - as many of you know, I’m a PhD student in biochemistry. I have mixed feelings towards grad school, but right now, they are almost all negative feelings. Experiment after experiment has failed, and a lot of what I’ve been doing looks to be a dead end, through no fault of my own - this is just how things worked out. Although if I’m completely honest, it’s partly because I hate my thesis topic that I was deceived into working on, which is not at all like the project I signed up for.

It’s not like my personal life is much better. The one solitary plus in that category is my very good relationship with my parents, who I’m quite close to. Aside from them, I’ve drifted apart from old friends, and I’m quite socially isolated. I hate most of the people I work with, almost as much as I hate the work itself, and so making friends there is pretty much a dead end.