Do you celebrate Thanksgiving?

Hello My fellow Black Magicians!!

It is that time of year again for Thanksgiving and I was wondering do you celebrate it??

I am new to this lifestyle, would it be an insult to the spirits??

Thank you for your input!!

4 Likes

Why would it be an insult to the spirits? Thanksgiving isn’t a religious holiday; it’s completely secular.

Honestly, I think beginners worry way too much about “insulting” the spirits and other religious nonsense. Even if it did insult them, so what? Are you going to let the spirits dictate your life to you?

The purpose of the holiday is pretty much in its name. It’s supposed to be a day devoted to feeling grateful, aka giving thanks, for the bounty and abundance of the harvest. You’re not giving thanks to anything or anyone in particular, though you can if you want to, but simply appreciating that which you have. It’s a celebration of plenty.

13 Likes

Yepper, even during the bad years I’ve managed to be given thanksgiving food to prepare so I wouldn’t be hungry, so I’ve always had a reason to be grateful even when I didn’t want to.

I’ve found being grateful for things, even the small ones makes a huge difference in my life, my magical life and it’s worth it to try to be grateful for something during the tougher times- it helps lift my mood.

I’ve never associated the holiday with anything religious. I’ve attended church functions for it, but I don’t think I’ve ever experienced it as anything other than a day to remember what we are grateful for.

Even if it’s say oh I’m so grateful for all God has given me, the statement means essentially the same as I am grateful for all that I have.

But then when someone says they’ll pray for me to heal or whatever I thank them. I don’t see it any as being any different than offering to light a candle or do a ritual on someone’s behalf.