Crowley's changed view on Hekate

I am reading “Circle for Hekate – Volume I: History & Mythology” these days. In that connection I would like to ask, if anyone knows why Aleister Crowley changed his view on Hekate from positive to very negative?

1 Like

Poor Hekate doesn’t deserve negative treatment.

4 Likes

You are right about that. I do think maybe she had a little laugh about it. He seemed to be ridiculous in this case. I am just interested in why? What made him change his mind? Did he secretly find her too powerful? Did it have something to do with his resistance to taking orders from women? I am no expert in Crowley, but as he seems to be very important to some people, I am interested in learning more.

1 Like

He probably had a couple personal, negative experiences, so he decided to be biased. Well, that’s my best guess.

2 Likes

He’s a druggie.

1 Like

Care to share his opinions before and after? I’m interested to hear this, I don’t recall ever reading any mention of Hekate in his literature.

He was addicted at times during his life, but the man was a genius. I’m sure he had a reason for his change in view.

2 Likes

Simple: He lived his life thinking he was God’s Gift to Magick and Horus incarnate upon the Earth. She took him down a peg.

4 Likes

Can you explain what his statement was before and after.

He also said “never work the Goetia” early in his career and spent the latter part of his career…working with the Goetia. So.

He may have been fickle but a brother’s allowed to change his mind about things.

6 Likes

He made this invocation earlier in his life: https://www.scribd.com/doc/16067087/Aleister-Crowley-Invocation-of-Hecate

Where he is obviously willing to work with Hekate. Then later he made this dismissive one (scroll down):

https://hekatecovenant.com/resources/about-hekate/hekates-profanation-maiden-mother-or-crone-goddess/