Bare Essentials for New Magicians

I’m brand new to Magick and it seems there is a lot of pomp and pizzaze involved to help generate a solid impression on the subconscious. I’m just wondering what can I get from the 99¢ store or some other convenient retailer that is important for beginners? Money is tight as I’m a highschool athlete but It’d obviously be a priority for Magickal practices an other aspects of my life as I see money as a resource. I’d create an astral magic space but I’ve only projected for a few seconds so this doesn’t seem like a very viable option atm. Any help is greatly appreciated!

3 Likes

All you need to do magick is you, however you could buy some candles for candle magick or paper to draw sigils on. You’ve already projected longer than I ever have, which is not at all despite trying for so long so definitely keep practicing that. When I started I got caught up in buying all sorts of occult and ritual supplies such as an athame, candles, an obsidian scrying orb, and incense but I really can’t say any of these things helped me more than just meditating and putting my will out there.

7 Likes

Work on meditation and visualization, that will help you a lot when it comes to astral stuff, and will also benefit your non-astral stuff too if you are creative.

2 Likes

Take walks and contemplate whatever gets you going. Let your mind drift around and see if you stumble upon any odd trinkets. Let serendipity take part in your work.

2 Likes

Seriously how do African witchdoctors and hoodoo rootworkers do any magick without the aid of Amazon.com or the dollarstore?

It’s intent, and it’s a hell of a lot of learning and research.

3 Likes

Dollar store shopping list:

Sharpie marker
Pad of blank drawing paper, or simple printer paper
x 2 votive candles
if they carry it, pack of incense sticks