A weird addiction

Hello everyone. I’m new to the occult, I’ve been drawn to it for years but only now I finally decided to take it seriously.
There’s something quite strange happening. I’m currently studying the book Works of Darkness, and I’m enjoying the content so far, and the “preliminary” meditations on Entering the Darkness, are really powerful.
At first, it sounded like a load of bullshit, i’ll be honest, but when I finally did it…I could easily visualize the dark mist in my room, around me, within me, I could see the dark mist empowering me, I could visualize this sinister smoke coming out of my mouth, out of my fingertips. And this meditation is utterly addictive, it just gives me a sense of power…I’m totally new to the occult, magick, never performed a ritual in my life, but this sense of power comes to me regardless!

By the way, the curious thing though is that, I’m still confused. How can I feel so damn addicted to a thing that I can’t even comprehend at the moment? Lots of black magicians and people on the Left Hand Path often state that this path is nothing about evil, and that this evil is just a concept from a christian point of view. However, EA clearly defines “the powers of darkness” right in the first page of the book, and often mentions evil throughout the book. For those who have read it, you know what I’m talking about. So how is that not related to evil at all then?

Maybe E.A. is simply using the term “evil” because it is the term, like you said, that so many people have grown accustomed to using when referring to black magick and darkness? Maybe he does not mean literally evil, but evil as in what others perceive to be evil. Just a thought.