Hard Qi Gong and It's Effect on My Energy Work [The Path of Smoke]

Here’s quote from Kurtis over in this thread … ’

At his suggestion, I started practicing freeform, hard-stye Qi Gong. And what a difference it has made.

Qi Gong is Chinese for “energy work”. It’s often seen as a gentle flowing exercise that encourages the movement of Qi (life force energy) through your body, promoting longevity and good health.

Tai Chi is the most well-known form of Qi Gong, but not all Qi Gong is Tai Chi.

There are literally thousands of Qi Gong exercises, some more effective than others.

What most people think of as Qi Gong is a gentle, flowing motion. It’s like your arms floating on waves of water.

But there is another style of Qi Gong that uses dynamic muscle tension while compressing the Qi inside your body.

I knew about hard-style Qi Gong and I’ve tried it a couple of times, but I never really practiced it until Kurtis suggested the strength training.

I have performed other dynamic tension exercises and they completely exhaust me. After a hard dynamic tension workout, it’s not uncommon for me to need a full day and a half to recover enough for the next workout.

It’s effective at building muscle and does help me lose fat, but it just wipes me out so completely that I wouldn’t have the energy for living, let alone magick.

So a couple of days ago, I decide to give hard-style Qi Gong another try. And wow … talk about a huge difference.

Rather than wearing me out in the way the other dynamic tension workouts did, hard-style Qi Gong completely energized me and pumped me full of energy.

It’s hard to describe what you’re doing, but you’re effectively using a breathing technique combined with abdominal contracts and visualizations to force the Qi into your Dan Tien, the energy storage center at your navel.